top of page

The Wonderful World Of Jen Rhee & John Ruff

This post is definitely one I would list under the title 'Scribulation'. Stop frowning at the title! It's meant to be funny!


Anyway, if you must know, my two youngest daughters were peering over my shoulder one evening some time ago, and the then 9 year old asked what a "Jen Rhee" was. I tried to explain that a GENRE was the theme of a book... Sci-fi, Horror, Mystery, Adventure, Comedy, and so on.

"So your John Ruff is Spaceships And Heliums?" asked the 4 year old.

"Genre," I corrected, "Heliums?" I don't think I could have looked more confused.

She rolled her eyes and huffed, "Yes! The people in your stories go into space and meet the Heliums."

"Heliums... You mean ALIENS!"

She shrugged.

"That's what Sci-fi is..." I tried to explain, at which point they both wandered off to ask for an ice lolly.


Yesterday, going home from work on the bus, I met a guy named 'John Rough' and immediately remembered this event and started laughing. It was a little awkward at first, but I told him the story and all was eventually well.


As the 'periodic table' image shows, genres have become sub-divided into smaller categories which, I'm sure, aid many readers if they have specific preferences. My only thought against this sub-categorisation is, if you enjoy a genre - say, thrillers - why would you want to restrict your reading to just one tiny branch of the subject? Why not embrace all of the authors in your favourite genre?

As a (primarily) sci-fi author, it is often the case that, where the Romance or Mystery genre will be given a definitive split, I find that MY works are listed under Sci-fi & Fantasy. I don't know how fantasy authors feel about this, but I suspect there are one or two who are as adamant that their work "is not sci-fi", just as much as I am that my books are not fantasy.

Don't forget, sci-fi is all spaceships and heliums, whereas fantasy is all swords, magic and dragons... (ah, apparently that doesn't include Harry Potter. According to my now-six-year-old; he's 'children's fiction'... I fear I've created a John Ruff monster!)... but perhaps you get my point.


If you are an author then, like me, you perhaps write most in the genre you read most. Admittedly, my reading is a little more diverse than it used to be, but I grew up with Asimov, Clarke, Bradbury, Orwell, Wells, Adams, Herbert and, of course, Pratchett. I was one of the many who queued for hours when Star Wars opened in Glasgow, then again for Empire Strikes Back and Return Of The Jedi... so I guess my inspiration was truly sorted back then.

Even I have interests in other genres. I have a love of comedies, thrillers, fantasies and even some historical fiction. These tastes carry over to other things too.

One of my genuinely favourite films, is Nine Months, and if you ever really fancy a good ol' fashioned chuckle, you could do far worse than the fight scene between Hugh Grant, Tom Arnold and a guy in a dinosaur costume in a toy store.


For some authors, their genre inspiration comes from the world around them or from a singular idea that haunts them for years before they choose to put pen to paper. Wherever the muse comes from, if you were destined to write, be under no illusions... that little sucker will pound on your brain until you give in.


And so, wherever you discover your Jen Rhee or John Ruff, remember to accept them as old friends into your life. The chances are, they've been hanging around in the wings for quite a while.

If you've yet to meet them, take a look around... they are usually the ones just beyond your peripheral vision, saying "Pssssst! I've had an idea..."

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page